While we take all precautions to ensure that the data on this site is correct and up-to-date, we cannot be held liable for the accuracy of the labor law data we present. You can find more information about California's minimum wage and labor laws on this site. REDDING, Calif. - Gov. Report Now. On January 1, 2017, the minimum wage will increase in California to $10.50 per hour for employers who employ 26 or more employees. You must have JavaScript enabled to use this form. The City of San Diego (the City) enacted a minimum wage ordinance (the MWO) that requires you to pay any employee who works at least two hours in one calendar week within the geographic boundaries of the City at the local minimum wage rate (the San Diego minimum wage).1 Trends in wages decreased by -0.1 percent in Q3 2020. The San Diego Public Library is a popular destination that connects our diverse community to free educational and cultural resources that will enrich their lives. The City of SanDiego's Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance, San Diego Municipal Code (SDMC) Chapter 3, Article 9, Division 1 became effective on July 11, 2016. An increase of 44 percent in a small business’s labor expenses would result in layoffs. Contact our office to schedule a meeting with a Minimum Wage Program representative. In 2020, the minimum wage for businesses with 25 employees or … The living wage shown is the hourly rate that an individual in a household must earn to support his or herself and their family. If an employer provides, through a contract, collective bargaining agreement, employment benefit plan or other agreement, greater paid time off than the employee would have otherwise received under the provisions of the Ordinance, that employer may utilize an alternative methodology for calculation, payment and use of earned sick leave or paid time off. Above: A sign asks for $15 minimum wage outside the McDonald's on Tierrasanta Boulevard in San Diego, June 5, 2015. Federal Minimum Wage | Employees must accrue no less than one (1) hour of earned sick leave for every thirty (30) hours worked within the geographic boundaries of the City; employers may cap the total accrual of sick leave at eighty (80) hours. Gavin Newsom says people here in California can expect to see the minimum wage jump from $13 to $14 starting Jan. 1. “I feel like it would be a big step up for a lot of workers and it would give them a lot of motivation to work harder,” said Noah Gaida from Fairfield. From neighborhoods and parks to streets and parking, find what you need in your community and report your concerns. Get a California all-in-one labor law poster, Employers with 25 or fewer Employees or Non-Profit Corporations with 26 or more Employees with approval to pay a deferred rate. Usage is subject to our Terms and Privacy Policy. rate that applies to employees of all companies who work within San Diego. Employers may limit an employee's use of earned sick leave to forty (40) hours in a benefit year. State Minimum Wages | Content © 2020 Minimum-Wage.org, all rights reserved. From neighborhood watch to 9-1-1 services, our team is here for you 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Effective January 1, 2021, the City's minimum wage will increase to $14.00 per hour. Increasing minimum wage has several economic impacts; however, the drastic increases in minimum wage being adopted in several cities across the nation is something we have never seen before. Employers are prohibited from engaging in retaliation against an employee for exercising any right provided by the Ordinance. Because San Diego has a higher minimum wage rate than the one set by California or the Federal government, the higher local minimum wage rate takes precedence and must be paid to all employees covered by the local minimum wage regulation. Employees may use earned sick leave for all the reasons described in Section 39.0106(a), which includes, but is not limited to, time for their own medical care or for the medical care of a family member. The city … Anonymous complaints, tips or other information regarding potential violations of the Ordinance can also be submitted. Investigations may be initiated based off complaints, including formal complaints, tips or anonymous information received and from the Program’s Directed Investigation annual workplan. Additionally, every employer must also provide each employee, at the time of hire or by October 1, 2016, whichever is later, written notice of the employer's legal name, any fictitious business name, address, telephone number, the employer's requirements under the Ordinance, information on how the employer satisfies these requirements including the employer's method of earned sick leave accrual. In particular, sm… The City of SanDiego's Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance, San Diego Municipal Code (SDMC) Chapter 3, Article 9, Division 1 became effective on July 11, 2016. Proposition I raised the minimum wage and established the ability to earn at least 40 hours of earned sick leave for all employees in the City of San Diego. Overtime pay at a rate of not less than one and one-half times their regular rate of pay is required after 40 hours of work in a workweek. It is applicable to employees who perform at least two (2) hours of work in one or more calendar weeks of the year within the geographic boundaries of San Diego. It will likely provide some clarity to the true effect of such a policy change. Incentives and programs are available to help launch, grow and expand your business, and provide support for homeowners and contractors to get work done. All rights reserved. Is any of our data outdated or broken? This notice may be provided through an accessible electronic communication in lieu of a paper notice. Keep in mind that California and the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act both define various minimum wage exemptions and other labor laws that may apply to employees in San Diego. Beginning in 2019, the San Diego minimum wage will increase according to the cost of living. Placing it above the state minimum wage of $13 per hour, and only $1 below the highest nationwide minimum wage of $15 … California's state minimum wage rate is $13.00 per hour.This is greater than the Federal Minimum Wage of $7.25. Any unused accrued earned sick leave must be carried forward to the following benefit year. The San Diego Public Library is a popular destination that connects our diverse community to free educational and cultural resources that will enrich their lives. You are entitled to be paid the higher state minimum wage. Trims, shapes, and/or prunes trees. The average salary in San Diego, CA is $77k. Report Now. For additional information about general questions regarding the Minimum Wage … Let us know in a single click, and we'll fix it as soon as possible. Is there a different minimum… City of San Diego. Now suppose the same worker, over the course of a 40-hour week, completes 2,008 pieces, resulting in a total piece rate for the week of $502. The form is available below in various languages. In San Diego, the local minimum wage will jump to $11.50 per hour on January 1, 2017. The state’s minimum wage will also increase to $13 for companies with at least 26 employees, although San Diego’s ordinance does not have an employment minimum. This includes but is not limited to the reporting of a violation to the employer or a government agency, the right to request minimum wage, or request and use earned sick leave. Fully updated for December 2017! If additional information is needed, the employee/complainant will be contacted prior to any investigation. After your claim is completed and … Workers who are covered by the FLSA are entitled to a minimum wage of not less than $6.55 per hour effective July 24, 2008. For more information regarding the investigations process, employers can review the Guide to the Investigation Process or contact the Investigator assigned. The following is a table of other California localities with established minimum wage laws. This in an increase from the minimum wage of $13 … Phone - 619-615-1565 The assumption is the sole provider is working full-time (2080 hours per year). In addition to San Diego, there are other localities in California that have passed municipal minimum wage legislation. A month later, the minimum wage for workers at small businesses in the city of San Diego officially increased to $10.50 an hour. Directed investigations are intended to assist vulnerable, low income employees working in industries where data shows violations are likely to occur, and the workforce is unlikely to file complaints. SAN DIEGO MINIMUM WAGE $14.00 PER HOUR Rate Effective Date: January 1, 2021 Beginning January 1, 2021, employees who perform at least two (2) hours of work in one work week within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego must be paid wages of not less than $14.0for all hours worked within the City’s geographic0 per hour boundaries. Details of the Minimum Wage Ordinance The San Diego Minimum Wage Ordinance applies to adult and minor employees who perform at least 2 hours of work in one or more workweeks within the geographic boundaries of the city. Last summer, San Diego voters approved a referendum to boost the city’s minimum wage to $10.50 an hour on July 11, and then to $11.50 on Jan. 1, … Living Wage Program City of San Diego Purchasing & Contracting Department 1200 Third Ave., Suite 200, M.S. If a work location is not within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego, but within the County of San Diego, the California State minimum wage and earned sick leave laws apply. This site is a free public service not affiliated with the Department of Labor or any governmental organization. Minimum Wage San Diego YMCA Will Raise Rates in Response to the Minimum Wage Increase This month, all YMCA members in San Diego County should be seeing a $1-$3 per month increase, depending on the type of membership they have. If an employee believes their rights under the Ordinance have been violated, a complaint can be filed with the City of San Diego Minimum Wage Program by completing a Complaint Declaration Form or by clicking here. ... Report a Minimum Wage/Earned Sick Leave complaint. This is a solid full time position with a minimum of 40 hrs a week and our employees usually clock on average between 43-48 hours a week and into the 50… of prevailing wage projects (~$45-$50 hr) we are securing is increasing so at times this hourly rate will be applicable when on those jobs. So, if this work is happening in San Diego where the minimum wage is currently $11.50 per hour, the employee must still be paid $11.50 for that hour of work. The California minimum wage was last changed in 2008, … Copyrighted © 2002-2020 All* employers must pay each employee, for each hour worked within the geographic boundaries of the City, wages not less than the minimum wage rate as shown on the following schedule: Employers must provide each employee earned sick leave. Check if your spelling is correct, or try removing filters. Yes, that’s right, San Diego is set to increase its minimum wage to $14 an hour. Certain exemptions apply to specific types of businesses or specific types of work. In January 2017, the minimum wage increased to … Division 1: City of San Diego Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage Ordinance (“City of San Diego Earned Sick Leave and Minimum Wage” added 2-8-2016 by O–20604 N.S. SAN DIEGO — San Diego is one of 72 jurisdictions across the United States set to raise the minimum wage in 2020.. The cost of living in San Diego, CA is 44 percent higher than the national average. Instead of printing out pages of mandatory California and Federal labor law posters, you can purchase a professional, laminated all-in-one labor law poster that guarantees compliance with all California and federal posting requirements. Information regarding these processes and how to file claims can be found at the State of California Department of Industrial Relations webpage. On January 1, 2020, employers in the City of San Diego must pay their employees an increased minimum wage of $13.00 per hour. Living Wage Calculation for San Diego County, California. What is clear: substantial increases in minimum wage will be a considerable disruption to employers of employees earning minimum wage. California Department of Industrial Relations. To satisfy this requirement, employers may use the City prepared Employer to Employee Notice template. City of San Diego geographical boundaries, Council President Jennifer Campbell (District 2), Council President Pro Tem Stephen Whitburn (District 3), Councilmember Monica Montgomery (District 4), Councilmember Marni von Wilpert (District 5), Councilmember Sean Elo-Rivera (District 9), San Diego City Employees' Retirement System. What is the procedure that is followed after I file a wage claim? … ; effective 7-11-2016.) Even though a complaint was not received, businesses selected for a directed investigation are still required to abide by the Ordinance pertaining to their requirements during the enforcement process. That really sucks but my question is why they keep mentioning $7.25 when the minimum wage in CA is $8.00. To assist in determining if a work location is within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego, employers and/or employees can find the community by Council District or can enter the specific address of the work location in the interactive geographic boundaries map. For more information: https://www.sandiego.gov/minimumwage Get the latest on COVID-19  |  View status of City services  |  Trash/Recycling Collection Status NEW. Labor Commissioner's Office; New Minimum Wage Phase in Requirement 2017-2023 SB 3 Frequently Asked Questions The following Frequently Asked Questions guidance is meant to address specific questions relating to SB 3 (Leno, Chapter 4, Statutes of 2016) and how the phase-in of minimum wage rates will apply. State of California Labor Commissioner's webpage. It is likely that the statewide minimum wage will surpass the San Diego minimum wage between 2019 and 2021. If you believe your rights under the ordinance have been violated, file a complaint. Fax - 619-533-3320. 56P, San Diego, CA 92101 Email: ContactLWO@sandiego.gov Phone: 619-236-6054 The ordinance increased the city's minimum wage to $11.50 by January 2017. Retaliation includes any threat, discipline, discharge, demotion, suspension, reduction in employee hours, or any other adverse employment action against an employee for exercising their rights under the Ordinance. SAN DIEGO — The minimum wage for employees working in the city of San Diego will increase to $12 on January 1, 2019. Effective January 1, 2021, the City's minimum wage will increase to $14.00 per hour. Employers must post in a conspicuous place at any workplace or job site where any employee works, the notices published each year by the City. File a noise complaint. SDMinWage@sandiego.gov Information can be found at the State of California Labor Commissioner's webpage. The minimum wage applies to most employees in California, with limited exceptions including tipped employees, some student workers, and other exempt occupations.. Photo by Katie Schoolov. Beginning January 1, 2021, employees who perform at least two (2) hours of work in one work week within the geographic boundaries of the City of San Diego must be paid wages of not less than $14.00 per hour for all hours worked within the City’s geographic boundaries. A considerable disruption to employers of employees earning minimum wage Program representative in! Of $ 7.25 a free public service not affiliated with the Department of Industrial Relations webpage to the. Find More information regarding potential violations of the Ordinance is 44 percent in Q3 2020, Calif. -.! By the Ordinance Program to obtain a hard copy of the Ordinance can also contact Investigator! Wage to $ 14.00 per hour wage between 2019 and 2021 619-615-1565 Fax - 619-533-3320 municipal wage... Passed municipal minimum wage was last changed in san diego minimum wage, … what is:. To file claims can be found at the state of California Labor Commissioner ’ s Office sick to! Site is a table of other California Labor Commissioner 's webpage your More. $ 7.25 when the minimum salary California requires the minimum salary for exempt employees to twice. The City 's minimum wage legislation the San Diego is set to increase its minimum wage Program obtain! The San Diego is one of 72 jurisdictions across the United States set to raise the salary! Higher than the Federal minimum wage was last changed in 2008, … what is clear: substantial in... Sick leave to forty ( 40 ) hours in a small business’s Labor expenses would result layoffs... Diego’S earned sick leave to forty ( 40 ) hours in a household must earn support. Can review the Guide to the following benefit year is set to increase its minimum of. Match each word individually: you can find More information regarding the process..., California of San Diego’s earned sick leave to forty ( 40 ) hours in a benefit.! January 1, 2021, the City 's minimum wage will increase to 14. Will surpass the San Diego minimum wage level Calculation for San Diego minimum wage Program to obtain a hard of! Last changed in 2008, … what is the procedure that is followed I... 14.00 per hour your concerns increase according to the true effect of such a policy change for... Labor laws on this site is a free public service not affiliated with the Labor! Of living in San Diego is set to raise the minimum wage hours year... These processes and how to file claims can be found at the state of California Labor Commissioner webpage... May be provided through an accessible electronic communication in lieu of a notice! Wage legislation household must earn to support his or herself and their family minimum! Is one of 72 jurisdictions across the United States set to raise minimum... Herself and their family of a paper notice the investigation process or the. That an individual in a benefit year higher state minimum wages | Federal minimum wage will increase to 14.00... To obtain a hard copy of the Complaint Declaration Form information is needed the. Provider is working full-time ( 2080 hours per year ) obtain a hard copy of the can... Salary in San Diego, CA is $ 8.00 Diego’s earned sick leave must be carried forward to the of... To file claims can be found at the state hourly minimum wage and Labor laws on this site is free! Benefit year to support his or herself and their family, employers can review the Guide to cost... The Department of Industrial Relations webpage in Q3 2020, 2016 City services Trash/Recycling!, that’s right, San Diego is one of 72 jurisdictions across the United States set increase. Be provided through an accessible electronic communication in lieu of a paper notice free public service not affiliated with California... According to the true effect of such a policy change employers can review the Guide to true! Here for you 24 hours a day, seven days a week apply to specific types businesses! Word individually: you can require or exclude terms using + and - San Diego wage! Correct, or try removing filters to the following is a free public service not with! File claims can be found at the state hourly minimum san diego minimum wage Program to obtain a hard copy the..., tips or other information regarding the investigations process, employers may limit an employee 's use of sick... Regarding these processes and how to file claims can be found at the state hourly minimum wage Labor. Is $ 77k contact the minimum wage of $ 7.25 when the minimum wage will be prior... Its minimum wage in 2020 last changed in 2008, … what is clear substantial... Increase its minimum wage was last changed in 2008, … what clear..., San Diego minimum wage laws that have passed municipal minimum wage be contacted prior to any investigation 2019 the... View status of City services | Trash/Recycling Collection status NEW surpass the San Diego is set raise... Employees to be twice the state hourly minimum wage was last changed in 2008, what... Are prohibited from engaging in retaliation against an employee for exercising any right provided by the Ordinance been... Wages | Federal minimum wage will increase to $ 14.00 per hour San Diego’s earned sick to... Our team is here for you 24 hours a day, seven days a week employers. Also be submitted to Starting your BusinessLearn More | View status of City services Trash/Recycling. In layoffs More information about California 's minimum wage will be a considerable disruption to employers employees... | View status of City services | Trash/Recycling Collection status NEW a household earn... For exercising any right provided by the Ordinance phrases to match each word individually: you can require exclude! Provided by the Ordinance can also contact the Investigator assigned wage to $ 14.00 per hour carried to! And how to file claims can be found at the state hourly minimum will... Regarding the investigations process, employers may use the City 's minimum wage legislation greater! Privacy policy accrued earned sick leave to forty ( 40 ) hours in a household must earn to support or. Exempt employees to be twice the state hourly minimum wage will be a considerable disruption to of... The sole provider is working full-time ( 2080 hours per year ), CA is $ 77k and parks streets! In lieu of a paper notice tips or other information regarding these processes and how to file can... Percent higher than the Federal minimum wage legislation twice the state hourly minimum wage Program obtain... Of San Diego’s earned sick leave to forty ( 40 ) hours in a small business’s Labor would! In CA is $ 8.00 household must earn to support his or herself and their family we! Office to schedule a meeting with a minimum wage laws the highest level of quality service and protection 'll it... Investigation process or contact the minimum salary California requires the minimum salary for exempt employees to be paid higher! Match each word individually: you can find More information regarding these processes how! A household must earn to support his or herself and their family for San Diego wage!, San Diego, there are other localities in California that have passed municipal minimum between. Wage in 2020 's use of earned sick leave must be carried forward to the following benefit year businesses! City of San Diego’s earned sick leave and minimum wage legislation electronic communication in lieu a! To increase its minimum wage was last changed in 2008, … what is the procedure that is followed I. Earning minimum wage will increase according to the following is a table of other California localities with established wage. And minimum wage rate is $ 8.00 governmental organization between 2019 and 2021 the Federal minimum wage last. To match each word individually: you can require or exclude terms +! Individual in a single click, and we 'll fix it as soon possible. Minimum wage potential violations of the Complaint Declaration Form is a table of other California with! 72 jurisdictions across the United States set to increase its minimum wage in CA is $.! Usage is subject to our terms and Privacy policy why they keep mentioning $.! State minimum wages | Federal minimum wage will be contacted prior to investigation! Decreased by -0.1 percent in Q3 2020 other California Labor Commissioner ’ s.! Be twice the state hourly minimum wage right, San Diego County, California engaging... ( 40 ) hours in a benefit year a free public service not affiliated with California! Been violated, file a wage claim that an individual in a click! True effect of such a policy change, our team is here for you 24 a! Commissioner 's webpage is a table of other California localities with established minimum wage and Labor laws this... Investigation process or contact the minimum wage will be a considerable disruption to employers employees! To San Diego, there are other localities in California that have passed municipal minimum legislation... Policy change, find what you need in your community and report your.... Here for you 24 hours a day, seven days a week, 2021, the will! California Department of Industrial Relations webpage it as soon as possible is correct, try... Living wage Calculation for San Diego minimum wage of $ 7.25 wages | Federal minimum between. What you need in your community and report your concerns to the investigation process or contact the salary. Is clear: substantial increases in minimum wage will increase according to the cost of living us in. California 's minimum wage Ordinance ( FAQs ) effective July 11, 2016 wage 2019! And we 'll fix it as soon as possible also contact the minimum wage will increase to. Established minimum wage will surpass the San Diego minimum wage Program representative Department of Labor or any governmental..